Favorites Thus Far

Everyone out there on the internets! Chime in!  What are your Printz favorites so far?  What books would you call the best books you’ve read this year?

Mine are (in no particular order):

Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King
Nothing by Janne Teller
Butterfly by Sonya Hartnett

Keep in mind that I still have a stack yet to get through.  Still, I feel pretty strongly about these three and can say with confidence that (of the 100 or so books I’ve read so far this year) they are the most impressive of the bunch.

-Katie

6 Responses

  1. I’m right there with you with Nothing by Teller, but I’d choose Ship Breaker by Bacigalupi and They Called Themselves the K.K.K. by Bartoletti to round out my top 3 picks. (But I’m still reading… my favorites could change! :-)

  2. I really enjoyed The Cardturner by Louis Sachar and The Wager by Donna Jo Napoli.

  3. My Top 3 of 2010:

    Nothing by Janne Teller
    Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta
    Revolver by Marcus Sedgwick tied with
    Wicked Girls: a Novel of the Salem Witch Trials by Stephanie Hemphill

  4. My Mock Printz committee has our shortlist narrowed down to:

    They Called Themselves the KKK by Susan Campbell Bartoletti
    Annexed by Sharon Dogar
    Will Grayson Will Grayson by JohnGreen/ David Levithan
    Butterfly by Sonia Harnett
    The Cardturner by Louis Sachar
    The Freak Observer by Blythe Woolston

    I need to read Butterfly, but so far I am pulling for Annexed

  5. Interesting list, Benjamin. I also liked The Freak Observer. I’ll definitely be keeping my eye on Blythe Woolston.

    We’re still haggling over our list here.

  6. So the winner = Ship Breaker

    and the honors =

    Please Ignore Vera Dietz
    Stolen
    Revolver
    Nothing

    I feel pretty good that those of us talking about the award in YAS were discussing 3 of the 5 books.

    And I guessed the winner! :-p

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

